Ossoba Design Studio

About the Site => Questions & Problems => Topic started by: Agrunyan on January 08, 2008, 11:01:53 AM

Title: Wierd menu in IE 6
Post by: Agrunyan on January 08, 2008, 11:01:53 AM
The menu for your main site (index.html) is very funky in IE 6. Its spaced out and the very top link is cut off half way. Just a quick heads up.

Alex R
Title: Re: Wierd menu in IE 6
Post by: ognen on January 12, 2008, 11:36:56 AM
The menu work fine with all other browsers, including IE7. I'm trying to run VPC to test in IE6 without success.
I've fixed some bugs in CSS, so can you give us feedback again!

Thanks!


---
ognen
Title: Re: Wierd menu in IE 6
Post by: Agrunyan on January 13, 2008, 02:39:41 PM
I'll be able to repond as soon as I can get back on the computer that had IE6 on it. :D 

IE6 can really mess alot of things up, remember that website I did with Ajax? I had to make an entire new version for IE6 and IE7, I guess IE6 doesn't support Ajax because the pages that were supposed to show up never did. But all is well now, got it worked out with a redirection script.

Alex R
Title: Re: Wierd menu in IE 6
Post by: Agrunyan on January 20, 2008, 04:33:55 PM
Works great!

Nice job ognen!

Alex R
Title: Re: Wierd menu in IE 6
Post by: ognen on January 21, 2008, 01:44:55 AM
Thank you for the feedback Alex!


---
ognen
Title: Re: Wierd menu in IE 6
Post by: Agrunyan on January 21, 2008, 11:23:33 AM
Sure no problem!

Alex R
Title: Re: Wierd menu in IE 6
Post by: Agrunyan on February 04, 2008, 10:26:59 AM
Hmmm...the menu seems to have gone back to its evil ways!

Haha, and now the bottom lower part of your template-background previewer on your home page isn't showing up in IE6.

 Alex R
Title: Re: Wierd menu in IE 6
Post by: ognen on February 05, 2008, 02:22:58 AM
Ah, everything come from my advertisers code. I fixed some of the problems for ads where I have access. Check again the page if possible. Thanks!

---
ognen

Title: Re: Wierd menu in IE 6
Post by: Agrunyan on February 05, 2008, 10:22:06 AM
Ah, everything come from my advertisers code. I fixed some of the problems for ads where I have access. Check again the page if possible. Thanks!

---
ognen



Hmmm... both still are messed up.

 I wonder why?

Alex R
Title: Re: Wierd menu in IE 6
Post by: ognen on February 08, 2008, 04:16:11 PM
Ok, I finally got my Virtual PC (with IE6) running and will work on the mess.


---
ognen
Title: Re: Wierd menu in IE 6
Post by: Agrunyan on February 08, 2008, 05:46:08 PM
Ok, I finally got my Virtual PC (with IE6) running and will work on the mess.


---
ognen

Glad you got it working!

Nah, not mess just a few fixes  ;D.

Alex R

Title: Re: Wierd menu in IE 6
Post by: ognen on February 08, 2008, 06:49:18 PM
The menu is working now in (Mr.) IE6  ;)

Thanks Alex!

---
ognen
Title: Re: Wierd menu in IE 6
Post by: Agrunyan on February 08, 2008, 08:32:49 PM
The menu is working now in (Mr.) IE6  ;)

Thanks Alex!

---
ognen
Ah, I'm glad you got it working.

 What was the prob?

 Alex R
Title: Re: Wierd menu in IE 6
Post by: ognen on February 09, 2008, 11:53:59 AM
This is actually a fault of IE6. The way he "understand" inline and block elements is weird. All HTML elements are either a block or an inline. In our menu we have inline element - links <a> and block elements as <div> and <li>.
For the second (sub) level of the menu we have two elements <div> and <a>. Applying display: block turn the <a> into a block element. So for the sub level we have two block elements, note that block elements will always start on a new line. IE 6 puts another line for the block of the <a> element in defiance of absolute position applied to the <div> that contain the links <a>. Don't ask me why... :)
The solution was to compensate this line break after the element by applying inline value (display: inline;) to the <li>. The code is:

#dd li {
  margin: 0px;
  padding: 0px;
  list-style: none;
  display: inline;
  font: bold 11px arial;
}


---
ognen
Title: Re: Wierd menu in IE 6
Post by: Agrunyan on February 09, 2008, 01:01:20 PM
This is actually a fault of IE6. The way he "understand" inline and block elements is weird. All HTML elements are either a block or an inline. In our menu we have inline element - links <a> and block elements as <div> and <li>.
For the second (sub) level of the menu we have two elements <div> and <a>. Applying display: block turn the <a> into a block element. So for the sub level we have two block elements, note that block elements will always start on a new line. IE 6 puts another line for the block of the <a> element in defiance of absolute position applied to the <div> that contain the links <a>. Don't ask me why... :)
The solution was to compensate this line break after the element by applying inline value (display: inline;) to the <li>. The code is:

#dd li {
  margin: 0px;
  padding: 0px;
  list-style: none;
  display: inline;
  font: bold 11px arial;
}


---
ognen

Ah, yes IE is something else.

Alex R