Author Topic: Wierd menu in IE 6  (Read 55110 times)

January 08, 2008, 11:01:53 AM
  • Guest

The menu for your main site (index.html) is very funky in IE 6. Its spaced out and the very top link is cut off half way. Just a quick heads up.

Alex R


January 12, 2008, 11:36:56 AM
Reply #1
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Ossoba Studio

The menu work fine with all other browsers, including IE7. I'm trying to run VPC to test in IE6 without success.
I've fixed some bugs in CSS, so can you give us feedback again!

Thanks!


---
ognen


January 13, 2008, 02:39:41 PM
Reply #2
  • Guest

I'll be able to repond as soon as I can get back on the computer that had IE6 on it. :D 

IE6 can really mess alot of things up, remember that website I did with Ajax? I had to make an entire new version for IE6 and IE7, I guess IE6 doesn't support Ajax because the pages that were supposed to show up never did. But all is well now, got it worked out with a redirection script.

Alex R


January 20, 2008, 04:33:55 PM
Reply #3
  • Guest

Works great!

Nice job ognen!

Alex R


January 21, 2008, 01:44:55 AM
Reply #4
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Ossoba Studio

Thank you for the feedback Alex!


---
ognen


January 21, 2008, 11:23:33 AM
Reply #5
  • Guest

Sure no problem!

Alex R


February 04, 2008, 10:26:59 AM
Reply #6
  • Guest

Hmmm...the menu seems to have gone back to its evil ways!

Haha, and now the bottom lower part of your template-background previewer on your home page isn't showing up in IE6.

 Alex R


February 05, 2008, 02:22:58 AM
Reply #7
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Ossoba Studio

Ah, everything come from my advertisers code. I fixed some of the problems for ads where I have access. Check again the page if possible. Thanks!

---
ognen



February 05, 2008, 10:22:06 AM
Reply #8
  • Guest

Ah, everything come from my advertisers code. I fixed some of the problems for ads where I have access. Check again the page if possible. Thanks!

---
ognen



Hmmm... both still are messed up.

 I wonder why?

Alex R


February 08, 2008, 04:16:11 PM
Reply #9
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Ossoba Studio

Ok, I finally got my Virtual PC (with IE6) running and will work on the mess.


---
ognen


February 08, 2008, 05:46:08 PM
Reply #10
  • Guest

Ok, I finally got my Virtual PC (with IE6) running and will work on the mess.


---
ognen

Glad you got it working!

Nah, not mess just a few fixes  ;D.

Alex R



February 08, 2008, 06:49:18 PM
Reply #11
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Ossoba Studio

The menu is working now in (Mr.) IE6  ;)

Thanks Alex!

---
ognen


February 08, 2008, 08:32:49 PM
Reply #12
  • Guest

The menu is working now in (Mr.) IE6  ;)

Thanks Alex!

---
ognen
Ah, I'm glad you got it working.

 What was the prob?

 Alex R


February 09, 2008, 11:53:59 AM
Reply #13
  • Administrator
  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Ossoba Studio

This is actually a fault of IE6. The way he "understand" inline and block elements is weird. All HTML elements are either a block or an inline. In our menu we have inline element - links <a> and block elements as <div> and <li>.
For the second (sub) level of the menu we have two elements <div> and <a>. Applying display: block turn the <a> into a block element. So for the sub level we have two block elements, note that block elements will always start on a new line. IE 6 puts another line for the block of the <a> element in defiance of absolute position applied to the <div> that contain the links <a>. Don't ask me why... :)
The solution was to compensate this line break after the element by applying inline value (display: inline;) to the <li>. The code is:

#dd li {
  margin: 0px;
  padding: 0px;
  list-style: none;
  display: inline;
  font: bold 11px arial;
}


---
ognen


February 09, 2008, 01:01:20 PM
Reply #14
  • Guest

This is actually a fault of IE6. The way he "understand" inline and block elements is weird. All HTML elements are either a block or an inline. In our menu we have inline element - links <a> and block elements as <div> and <li>.
For the second (sub) level of the menu we have two elements <div> and <a>. Applying display: block turn the <a> into a block element. So for the sub level we have two block elements, note that block elements will always start on a new line. IE 6 puts another line for the block of the <a> element in defiance of absolute position applied to the <div> that contain the links <a>. Don't ask me why... :)
The solution was to compensate this line break after the element by applying inline value (display: inline;) to the <li>. The code is:

#dd li {
  margin: 0px;
  padding: 0px;
  list-style: none;
  display: inline;
  font: bold 11px arial;
}


---
ognen

Ah, yes IE is something else.

Alex R